The view members setting determines who accesses the member list in a space. Space owners and managers can manage this setting and can tailor visibility based on the space's purpose and sensitivity. Restricting member visibility doesn’t limit the total member count displayed and doesn’t hide who sends messages in the space.
About view members settings
Options for the view members setting include:
- Owners: Only space owners can access the member list.
- Owners and managers: Both space owners and managers can access the member list.
- All members: All members of the space can access the member list. This is the default setting for most spaces.
- The entire organization: Anyone in your organization can access the member list. This applies even if they are not a space member.
- Important: This option is available only if the space is discoverable to the entire organization. If shared with a different target audience, the maximum view members setting is “All members.”
Change view members permissions
Space owners and managers can adjust who can see the member list in Google Chat.
- On your computer, open Google Chat.
- Select the space where you want to change permissions.
- At the top of the space, select the space name.
- Scroll down and select Space settings.
- Choose a view members setting
Save.
Review view members restrictions
Review these details before adjusting the view members setting, as changing it can affect space functionality and member experience.
Important:
- If you can’t view members, you can’t assign tasks to others; only to yourself.
- If you can’t view members, any use of @mentions will show a "user can't be added" error to ensure memberships stay private.
- The "Manage members" permission cannot exceed the "View members" setting. If you reduce member visibility, manage member permissions adjust accordingly.
- To protect privacy, system messages announcing new member additions are hidden if member visibility is restricted.